Before you act, remember who’s watching

You know the days, the days when every single thing goes wrong. You over sleep, then of course your kids are getting ready at a sloth’s pace. Oh and the oldest one forgot to tell you last night when you were helping him with his homework, that he has another paper due today!

They tell you what they want for breakfast and then at least one of them throws a tantrum because they want something different. So you go back to the kitchen to make something else. Then it’s time to leave, so you have to take it to go.

When you finally get everyone in the car you realize that one of the kids forgot their coat so you have to go back inside to get it. Once you get back in the car, you see that the food you brought has already been spilled all over the seat and more than likely is on the kid as well.

By the time you make it to the first school, that kid is tardy! Which now means that the second one will probably be tardy too, once you get to their school.

You get to the second school and now that kid is in a bad mood, she refuses to get out of the car, so you look like a psycho trying to pull your five year old out of the backseat, while all of the other parents just open the door and their kids hop out and skip along into class! $#%!

Oh yeah, and did I mention that all of this is before 8:30!

Then on the car ride home, you replay the whole morning. “Should I have said this?” or “Why did I say that?” “Did I handle that the way I should have?” I’m not gonna lie, sometimes I’m ashamed! The mom guilt is real y’all!

So here’s what I’ve been working on lately, (drum roll please) patience. I want to be more patient with my kids, with myself and simply in general.

Understanding that how I act, is showing my kids how to act! If I scream and yell all the time, then what else can I expect but for them to do the same!

It’s not fair to tell them one thing and then turn around and act a completely different way. Because honestly, we all know that actions speak louder than words!

I love my kids more than life itself, and it’s my job to teach them. How they act when they grow up depends on who I am right now!

I am trying to keep that in the back of my mind, that they are watching how I handle every situation, sometimes I may not even realize that they are watching.

I want to stop focusing so much on the things that go wrong and just relax, go with the flow and enjoy my little ones, continue having fun with them and try to be the best role model for my children that I can be!

2 thoughts on “Before you act, remember who’s watching

  1. I never gave my son the “because I said do” line and I learned to apologize for my own imperfections when he was really young. We always have to be mindful of helping them be better humans than us 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment